Tags

My lil’ one has only just turned three – but, these days, three is going on thirteen. I remember the old days, when we were young, make up was taboo, we’d wear whatever our mothers told us to and what she said yes or no to was not open for negotiation. At three, we were babies. These days, they grow up so fast.

My lil’ one and her friends are too old for their age – they dictate what they want, they have demands and everything is an endless discussion of logic and reasoning. They like makeup, they demand nail polish (just like you mommy!), and they act like teenagers way before their time. They’re only three, so I can only imagine what their real teens will be.

Please lil’ ones – wait, I want to shout at the top of my lungs. What’s the rush? You’ll have more than enough time to worry about how you should look, what you should wear, and the endless arguments you’ll have with mommy over these things. I’d love to watch these toddlers play with toddler toys, enjoy toddler cartoons, and leave the worrying to us.

If I have one message for my daughter and all the other little girls her age out there it’s this: wait and enjoy your childish things, your innocent days, your carefree life. I’ll do my best to shield you and protect you my little one, so you have time and space to grow and become your own person. All I ask is that you always trust me to know what’s best for you. Don’t grow up before your time, I hope you never have reason to.