Tags

,

My husband and I took our lil’ one to the movies yesterday. We were taking a chance on her, hoping she’d enjoy the experience – the popcorn, candy, cartoon, all of it. She sat down between us on her booster seat, took hold of the popcorn and then freaked out as the trailers started – my lil’ one is not a fan of loud noises. She hid her face, hugged me and closed her ears.

As the main feature began, our lil’ one relaxed – she was amazed at the big screen, the colors, the animation. She grabbed the popcorn and ate it quietly as she watched the cartoon. My husband and I looked at each other and at her – proud of her, surprised at her excitement, hoping it would last through the movie. As you may guess, it didn’t.

Slowly, our lil’ one got bored – the excitement wore off, and she began to look for excuses to get up and out of the theater. “Mommy, I need to go potty. “Mommy, let’s go buy candy”. “Mommy, I want to sit on the stairs.” On, and on it went until I gave up and asked her dad to leave and go home. But, to give credit where it’s due, she did last an entire forty-five minutes. There’s definitely movie-watching potential in her future.

I do admit – my lil’ one is very restless. Getting her to sit through the movie was as difficult as getting her to sit for an entire meal at a restaurant with us, or through a whole story at bedtime. She gets bored and frustrated very quickly – I have to take some blame here, she probably gets it from me! But, I still try as much as possible to increase her patience threshold, to get her to enjoy what she’s doing without looking forward to the next activity. Here’s hoping that she’ll actually watch the whole cartoon next time!