Tags

“A mother is the truest friend we have, when trials heavy and sudden, fall upon us; when adversity takes the place of prosperity; when friends who rejoice with us in our sunshine desert us; when trouble thickens around us, still will she cling to us, and endeavor by her kind precepts and counsels to dissipate the clouds of darkness, and cause peace to return to our hearts”. 

~Washington Irving

For my sisters and I, my mother has always been the center of our universe. She has always been there for us, stood by us, loved us unconditionally, gave us her strength when we needed it, and looked upon us with pride for our achievement. My mother is the light of our lives, the sun that shines upon us when it’s dark, and the wind beneath our wings. She has never disappointed us even on her most difficult days. She is our role model and our best friend.

Even as I’m older and have a lil’ girl of my own, my mother is still the voice in my head that I listen to for advice. My mom’s laughter cheers me on and that twinkle in her eyes picks me up when I’m down. Even though she doesn’t look after me constantly anymore, my mother still takes care of me when I’m around her, still nurtures me and – now – nurtures my own daughter too.

As I raise my lil’ girl, I now have a deeper understanding for everything my own mother sacrificed in order to ensure that we become better people. I only hope that I can offer my daughter the same values my mother instilled in us, the same smiles she put on our faces, the same strength she gave our hearts, and the same comfort she provided.

Thank you mommy – We love you more than we can ever tell you, but we do hope to always try to show you and never fail to let you know how much we appreciate you.

Happy Mother’s Day to every mommy out there – enjoy your special day with your loved ones!