Tags

My lil’ girl has separation anxiety – except it’s not fear of separation from her mom and dad, it’s fear of separation from her grandparents. They don’t live in the same country as her, and they’re visiting for a couple of weeks. For some reason, my lil’ girl seems to feel they’re about to travel and she’s developed an attachment to them the likes of which I haven’t seen in a while. For the last two days, she’s been her grandma’s shadow. Literally. She insists that her grandma feeds her, dresses her, takes her to the potty, brushes her hair, bathes her, and even sleeps next to her. And when it’s time to go home, my lil’ girl throws a tantrum that can only be placated with promises of toys, popcorn, and staying up late.

Yesterday, she loudly announced to both her grandparents that “when you leave, I cry”. Yes, we all had tears in our eyes. I never really had to deal with separation anxiety in my lil’ girl – the fact that I’m a stay at home mom made it easy, I never had to leave her with anyone to go to work and I tend to spend most of my time with her. Her first few weeks at pre-school were tough, but that was dealt with in time and now she looks forward to her time there. But, I have no clue how to deal with her separation anxiety from other members of the family who can’t be with her all the time. Especially, with the fact that her grandparents would do anything to accommodate her every whim and her every mood. She’s spoiled to the max and absolutely loves it. Discipline is left at the door as soon as she lays her eyes on them.

So, as I write this, my lil’ girl is up, watching YouTube as promised to get her home and away from her beloved grandparents, and she just had a slice of pizza and chocolate. Separation anxiety is going to turn our lil’ girl into a diva again. Here’s hoping it won’t last long!