Tags

, ,

So today I decided to write something that’s not just about being a mom, this post has nothing to do with kids, toddlers, tantrums, crying, feeding, sleeping, etc. Sometimes, we need to take a step back and remember that as much as we love our kids and cherish them, as much as they’ve changed our lives to the better – we still need time that doesn’t just revolve just about being mothers.

It’s easier for the working mom I guess, going out every morning to the office and becoming the independent woman she is. The stay-at-home mom however has more of a challenge, she needs to find activities to engage in that aren’t related to motherhood. That’s why I still freelance and look for part time work – and I encourage all mothers to do so. But there are other things we can do – reading books that aren’t always about your child’s development or similar topics, pampering yourself to spa treatments, going out with friends and not talking about your children, and maybe starting your own business, from home or otherwise.

Don’t get me wrong – I’m not saying that we should need recognition for being more than a mother, I insist that it’s my greatest accomplishment. But, mothers need interests, hobbies, friends, etc to energize them, which, in turn, will make them better mothers, more able to give their children what the need.

Motherhood is isn’t easy – it doesn’t give you time off and demands constant patience and energy. It is also the most rewarding job I can think of. Keep up the good work mommies!

P.S. If you love reading I’ve just finished the trilogy written by Stieg Larsson, it includes “Girl with the Dragon Tattoo”, “Girl Who Played with Fire”, and “Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest” – they are an amazing read. Enjoy!